UnYPhil-Women Welcomes the Transition Commission

Finally, the list is out.

The United Youth of the Philippines-Women, Inc. (UnYPhil-Women) salutes both the Government of the Philippines (GPH) and the Moro Islamic Liberation Front (MILF) for finally coming out with the composition of the 15-member Transition Commission that is primarily tasked with drafting of the Bangsamoro Basic Law.

We also greatly applaud the inclusion of four (4) women commissioners in the Transition Commission headed by Chairman Mohagher Iqbal, namely Hon. Atty. Raissa Jajurie, Hon. Atty. Johaira Wahab, Hon. Fatmawati Salapuddin, and Hon. Froilyn Mendoza. Women stand much to gain when peace finally reign as our struggle for peace is inextricably linked to our concern for life. With the inclusion of these women, we are confident that the Bangsamoro Basic Law will importantly take into account the specificity of women’s sufferings and end the seemingly endless state of war even in peacetime.

Our hopes are well placed on the Transition Commission that they will significantly contribute to the realization of the just and lasting peace defined in the Framework Agreement on the Bangsamoro. We, in unison, also renew our vow to be effective agents of peace and we will continue supporting the long and arduous process towards the establishment of a new political entity.

Long Live the Bangsamoro People!

Long Live the Women in the Bangsamoro!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: